• Welcome to The Student Loan Debt Forum | The College Investor. Please login or sign up.

Certified Document Center: Scam or not?

Started by Big_Pete33, August 25, 2016, 09:46:58 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Big_Pete33

Hello everyone, this is my first time on this website, and as of Thursday, August 25, 2016. I received a letter from this Student Loan Consolidation, called "Certified Document Center"

The top said "Final Notice" and the letter told me this:

Dear: *****

Our records indicate that your federal student loans may be eligible for a consolidation with the U.S Department of Education. As a federal student loan holder, you may be eligible to convert your existing high-interest loan into a federally-backed consolidation with a lower rate*. Your loans in the amount of $41,875 may be be eligible for total loan forgiveness.

Benefits of the Consolidation Program may include:

• No credit check
    Interest rate reduction regardless of balance or pay history

• Lower monthly payments

• Lower monthly payments based on income and family size

• Loan Forgiveness[/b]

No other calls or notices will be spent to you in regards to this offer. Due to a high call volume, we ask that you complete the process below prior to calling.

Please create your Federal Student Aid ID and call by August 26th, 2016 or before your next payment is due:

So, I used my FSA account and called the number. After talking to the guy for about an hour and a half, I was given a plan that the Department of Education with pay for the bills and I was to pay the Department themselves around $30 based on my income. What I spoke to the phone was basically applying on the phone about my information, like my address, how much money I made, and so on. I was directed to another person telling me about what I need to send  and  paying $800 at starting date.

At first I was overjoyed, but then I realized something if "it's too good to be true, chances are it is."