• Welcome to The Student Loan Debt Forum | The College Investor. Please login or sign up.

Parent PLUS Loan Repayment

Started by debtfreedreamer, July 12, 2021, 08:35:36 am

Previous topic - Next topic

debtfreedreamer

Hi! I'm a newbie to the site and looking for advice.
My husband and I have paid down a significant amount of debt in the past two years. He only has $20,000 in private student loans left to pay and this feels so much more manageable than where we started.
His parents took our Parent PLUS loans that I was not aware of when we got married. They have never shared the full picture with me and it is extremely frustrating as I am the one who manages the money in our relationship. I am aware that we are not legally obligated to pay the loans back but, I do feel a sense or moral obligation. I have been asking for the loan information for months but haven't gotten anything. What makes the situation complicated is that they consolidated his siblings loans into one lump sum. I know his brother is not repaying his parents and I don't think he has any intention to repay them. His sister might be repaying them but no one has confirmed that with me either.
We have one child and another one due in 2 weeks. I want to be able to save money for them and feel a huge financial burden weighing over me with these Parent PLUS loans and in laws who would like us to pay them back but will not share information.
Any advice is greatly appreciated!

TheCollegeInvestor

Honestly, as you said, it's their debt, not yours. And if they consolidated it and mixed it all up with your husbands siblings, how are you planning to sort that out.

There's no real financial advice here to help, but maybe some personal advice.