• Welcome to The Student Loan Debt Forum | The College Investor. Please login or sign up.

New to Repayment Plan

Started by wendyd, November 16, 2021, 02:09:03 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

wendyd

I am new to this site (thankful to have found it) and new to repayment of student loans, I have recently graduated and I am a pharmacist i have student loan debt of approx $114,000 and a medical loan of $35,000.  I am not sure which repayment plan to select and begin payments, it appears i am undecided between Standard Repayment or Income driven repayment??? I plan to pay approx $1,000/mth.  I have some savings still and plan to put it all on the federal loan debt or on the medical loan debt.  The medical loan is locked at 5% for a period of 10 years payment of $370/mth.  Can you help with my decision to take my savings of approx $10,000 and pay towards student loans or pay towards medical loan?

TheCollegeInvestor

Assuming the medical loan is private, you're making the right choice - pay it off first.

I would personally go income-driven repayment on your Federal loan, and then put everything extra towards the private loan. Then I would work on the Federal loan.

I don't know what your employment looks like, but you can also look at loan forgiveness programs for the Federal loan depending on where you work (such as a non-profit hospital).

See this guide to repayment plans.

wendyd

Should I take the $10,000 and apply it to the Medical Loan with locked rate of 5%?

So I been reading and I am also about to be married (next year) and after reading if I choose the income repayment plan my spouses income will also count and then my monthly payment will go up significantly????
The standard plan is over a period of 10 years?  the income driven is over 25 years?

wendyd

Also, sorry I didn't answer about my employment, at this time I am working for a retail pharmacy and not at a hospital or government agency.